The Rhythm of Things – 3LineTales

tltweek22

All these things I haven’t done, packed neatly into their dark, square drawers. Cramped and contained, awaiting their turn. One thing at a time, my teachers always said. Patience! Gently! Too many at once and the whole system topples. Follow the system; follow the priorities.

I tap tap tap the little squares. Gently, in rhythm. Like a metronome. Tap tap tap, as though they were piano keys. Softly, my piano teacher used to say. Gently –  imagine you have boneless hands. And my boneless heels tap tap the rhythm – until all the things I haven’t done are flying wild and free. Staccato! The music said. Presto agitato!  Which I do think means a good swift kick.

© Nadia Brown

Check out 3 Lines Tales weekly photo challenge , hosted by Sonya at 100 Words or Less. Join in!!

Photo by Rosan Harmens

8 thoughts on “The Rhythm of Things – 3LineTales

Leave a comment